Latest News
2 minutes reading time (367 words)

Karl Hansen, MD, Phd Named Chair of OB/GYN Department at OU

July 11th, 2014

Oklahoma City, OK -  Karl Hansen, MD PhD, Program Director for OU Physicians Reproductive Medicine, has been named the Chair of the Obstetrics and Gynecology Department in the College of Medicine at The University of Oklahoma. 

The appointment was announced in a letter from M. Dewayne Andrews, Executive Dean of the College of Medicine and Senior Vice President and Provost of the Oklahoma University Health Sciences Center:

"It is my pleasure to announce that Karl R. Hansen, M.D., Ph.D., has been appointed Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology in the College of Medicine (Oklahoma City). His appointment concludes a national search during which the search committee developed five well-qualified candidates for visit-interview consideration. After all visit cycles and interviews in the search process were completed, it was the recommendation of the search committee and the decision of College and OU Medical Center administrations that Dr. Hansen was the outstanding candidate and best fit for near-term and long-term institutional and departmental needs. 

Dr. Hansen currently is Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology in the OU College of Medicine and Chief of the Section of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (REI). He has been a member of our faculty since 2004, and he has served in a highly exceptional, productive manner as the interim chairman of the department since 2013. He has developed a nationally recognized program in REI. Dr. Hansen’s research work and publications focus on human ovarian function and reproductive aging factors. In addition to other/prior extramural grant funding, he is currently the Principal Investigator on a large NIH cooperative multicenter reproductive medicine network grant. He also holds appointment as adjunct associate professor of medical genetics in the HSC Graduate College. He is a Fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and member of the Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility. He has been the recipient of numerous teaching awards and recognitions. Congratulations to Dr. Hansen on his many accomplishments and on his appointment as Chairman of Obstetrics and Gynecology. We look forward to his leadership of this department.


M. Dewayne Andrews, M.D.

Executive Dean, College of Medicine

Senior Vice President & Provost, OUHSC"


Congratulations to Dr Hansen !!!

New Location May 27th, 2015
$1.5 Million Grant for Infertility Research

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to

Contact Us

Inquire now and start a confidential conversation regarding your fertility care.


Dr. Karl Hansen, Dr. LaTasha CraigDr. Heather Burks, and Dr. Blake Evans, your Board-Certified Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Subspecialists and the OU Physicians Reproductive Medicine team, including Michael T Zavy PhD,  Halea Plumlee APRN-CNP, and REI Fellows: Sarah Gavrizi, MD, Pardis Hosseinzadeh, MD and Ashley Kim, MD who proudly provide the complete scope of infertility treatments including:

In-vitro fertilization (IVF), Fertility Preservation (egg freezing), Laparoscopic and hysteroscopic surgery, Frozen (cryopreserved) embryo transfer, Ovulation induction, Intrauterine insemination, Donor insemination, Recipient / oocyte (egg) donation cycles, Hysterosalpingograms, Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis, and Surrogacy / Gestational Carrier cycles

OU Physicians Reproductive Medicine
840 Research Parkway, Suite 200,
Oklahoma City, OK 73104

     Serving the Oklahoma City Area and the following Oklahoma cities:Guthrie, Yukon, El Reno, Norman, Stillwater, Shawnee,Bethany, Moore, Midwest City and Del City.

           Other neighboring cities less than 90 minutes away include:Elk City, Weatherford, Ardmore, Pauls Valley, Chickasha, Lawton, Enid and Tulsa.